Archive for October 16, 2008

Knitting Circle

This month I attended a Knitting Cicle led by Melanie Reuter. She not only taught some of us how to knit she offered her philosophy and theology of knitting.

After the first meeting I bought yarn that soothed my eye and felt good to my touch. I bought needles that were smooth and slender. I liked how they felt. I even liked how they looked in an old basket I pulled out from under the sink.

October 16, 2008 at 6:47 pm Leave a comment

Changing Temperatures

Today  the temperature will rise to record heat with a prediction of thirty degrees cooler tonight. I sense the coming of coolness in the way the light shines through my window this afternoon. 

Twice in the last twenty-four hours I have had the opportunity to discuss the act of writing with people who want to write. I received a rejection letter from a literary journal I love and respect and an email inviting me to send in my  nonfiction manuscript. On Tuesday I wrote the beginnings of a new poem. I’m back to moving between the reading of four, no five books. I marked off appointments on my work calender to reserve day next week for reading and writing.

My friend and critic, Miriam, says I frequently use the word “enter” in my poems. I can’t help myself. I enter, begin and begin.

October 16, 2008 at 5:57 pm Leave a comment


October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031